Austin DWI Lawyer
Put a Former Travis County Prosecutor on Your Side
Have you been pulled over for DWI (driving while intoxicated) in Travis County? A DWI is a serious matter that has many negative ramifications. While you might believe it is impossible to fight this charge, you may be able to secure a better outcome with the help of the right attorney. You will need a legal professional who has the experience and understanding of how the other side operates to give you a cutting edge.
At the Law Office of Paul Quinzi, PLLC, our Austin DWI attorney is a former Travis County prosecutor who has the necessary track record, experience as a prosecutor, and belief that you are not guilty until proven so. Our firm fights for its clients with the goal of a case disposal that makes you eligible for expunction or nondisclosure. We will thoroughly investigate the state’s evidence for its potential flaws, inconsistencies, and other errors in all facets of your arrest.
Arrange for a free consultation by calling the Law Office of Paul Quinzi, PLLC at (512) 515-1856.
Texas DWI Laws & Penalties
You can be arrested for DWI or boating while intoxicated (BWI) if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) measures .08 percent or above. You may also be arrested if a police officer observes that your driving is visibly impaired due to alcohol or drugs regardless of your BAC. Because of the adverse public opinion regarding drunk driving, law enforcement and prosecutors aggressively pursue drunk drivers on the road and in court.
The administrative, financial, and criminal court penalties for a first-offense DWI include:
- Potential jail time of up to six months
- A fine of up to $2,000
- A license suspension of up to a year
- DWI education program
- Community service
- Points added to your driving record
- Increased auto insurance premiums
- A three-year license surcharge ranging from $1,000 to $2,000 due annually
A first offense is usually charged as a Class B misdemeanor unless your BAC exceeded .15 percent, which elevates the charge to a Class A misdemeanor and steeper penalties. Also, multiple DWI charges incurred over a specific time period will result in more serious penalties.
You have 15 days from the date of your arrest to request a hearing to challenge the automatic license suspension. Failure to request this hearing will result in forfeiture of your right and the suspension will be upheld.
Enlist the Services of Our Austin DWI Lawyer
Because of the many negative consequences of a Texas DWI, you should have the guidance of our experienced Austin DWI attorney in your corner as soon as possible. Many potential DWI defenses exist and your case can be reviewed and investigated for the best legal options.
Call our Austin DWI lawyer at (512) 515-1856 today for seasoned legal criminal law representation in Austin.